Words from an Insomniac still trying to find her way

You can’t get rid of this Chicana

I am one,
never shaken
always stirred
into the view
most commonly blurred.
You will see
in my readiness
in all my glow,
I am one
just like it should be
for those who don’t know.
I am willing
to set aside your confusion
because I am easy to read
less likely to speak
when the written word
does enough for me.
I am still one
when the dawn is anew
and you are outside
the comfort of your shoes.
I am still on top
of those who fear to change
of those who quiver
at the sound of my name.
I am one
one who has won
when you thought
you’d break my spirit
and take away my song
you were wrong
like you always are
where I am concerned.

3 responses

  1. lucywilliamspoetry

    I have nominated you for an award, Check out my blog!!

    February 22, 2013 at 4:20 am

    • Thanks Lucy! I love reading your work as well. I thought I was following you!!! Ill be sure to make that happen!

      February 22, 2013 at 12:29 pm

      • lucywilliamspoetry

        No problem : )

        February 23, 2013 at 2:43 am