Words from an Insomniac still trying to find her way

Greed is Our National Anthem

I always have too much to say.

And why must I speak when there’s never any change?

I’m not begging for peace or for the rich to help the poor.

Fantasies don’t fly well with human kindness anymore.

But how about a little realism, for the future does look grim,

Is this really where you want the towel to be thrown in?

Everyone is doing it in such the wrong way

$ signs are the forefront for any start to change.

Another benefit for such and such gives my head an ache

Just where does that money go anyway?

And no more telethons… We seem to pay celebrities

More than we give to the need

How about the not so famous with their

Car washes in his or her name?

People seem to respond more this way

Hearts are compassionate when it’s

Happening close to home.

Where is the help when we have to travel 100 miles

And stand among the crowd?

Doing what?

Dancing for change? What a joke

I must say.

No one’s changing a thing when the song’s being played.

Homeless realization; it’s still on the rise

Aids and other tragedies haven’t been taken care of by

$ signs

Africa is still in pain, all of her children crying for rain

Where did the money go, who is to blame?                                                 Jan. 1, 2009

2 responses

  1. vb

    I really like this poem. I wrote a poem about greed as well today, you can check it out on my blog if you like.

    Looking forward to read more of your stuff!

    Vincent

    January 9, 2013 at 2:01 pm

    • Thanks for reading Vince. I am very interested on your take of “greed” as well. You can bet I’ll be reading!

      January 9, 2013 at 2:54 pm