Words from an Insomniac still trying to find her way

50 Shades Trilogy… I want to say it was a dare, but unfortunately, I can not tell a lie.

So one day while us girls were sitting around the table in the backyard, someone begins a conversation with “Have you heard of this new book called 50 Shades of Grey?” And here we are, a few weeks later, with a not so nice review from me.  But don’t get me wrong, I’m not going to bash these stories or forbid you, dear reader, from finding out on your own.  No. Instead, I’m just going to give my opinion and walk away; like a good little girl.  Read them and decide for yourself if they are worth talking about.

What peaked my interest in the first place were 2 things. One; my sweet innocent (or so I thought) prima read them, and the second was that they were available on my Aunts Nook account.  So I took a break from crocheting and dove right in.  This is a review of that (shallow) dive.

 

50 Shades of Grey: The first couple of pages had me interested and by the time Mr. Grey was in the picture; I was hooked.  The hook, however, was small at best and Mr. Grey’s character was disappointing by the end of the story.

The story began like Red Shoe Diaries meets 9 and a 1/2 weeks, hopeful, but in the end did not meet my expectations. It is the story of a Dominant and a Submissive (who is not very good at being a submissive.)  It is a love story; a fable of beating the odds (no pun intended), a story about control and change.  I felt that the Dominant character wasn’t as dark as they could’ve been.  It is obvious from the start that this character is damaged goods from a young age, but the damaged mind isn’t displayed enough to make it a believable character.  I wanted to know how this Dominant triggered relief from the past.  I wanted to see the Dark side of the play room in action as an example.  I received nothing.  The last couple of pages, I’ll admit, did choke me up a bit.  The sadness and crushed dream was very believable.

 

50 Shades Darker: The title alone was promising; but once again, a total let down.  There was nothing “dark” about this second book, save the childhood memories (what little there were.)  By the end I was irritated with Ana Steele’s lines. Who talks like that? Her cheesy love lines took me out of the story, sad to say.  By the time I had finished I thought I had just finished a Harlequin Romance meets Danielle Steel novel.  It became way too mushy and soap opera-ish. The only interesting aspects were the curious sexual encounters the two characters in the story shared.  That and my intrigue of the play room.  In the end, it became a cat and mouse game, let’s see who’s tougher, I didn’t want pain but now I want it kind of silliness.

 

50 Shades Freed:  Boo is all I can say.  I was disappointed with how easy everything flowed and worked out for these two characters as if life really happens that way.  It reminded me of Pretty Woman; when does the rich successful guy really fall for the prostitute in real life?  And although there are no prostitutes in this story, it still feels “Hollywood fake” in every way.  The story felt rushed, the characters all end up being together in some way, and of course, this all happens because of the ‘rich’ card being played.  Where is the story about the same damaged character who isn’t rich?  It’s too easy a story.  By the time I finished the last book I was done with Ana Steele trying to play Savior and Mr. Grey becoming a weakling. Even the sex became tedious and boring.

 

Okay, so I did bash it a bit.  But I’ll be the first to say kudos to this writers’ achievements and success.  Everyone has a following.

As for me, I will not be one of them.  The story was so Danielle Steele/Harlequin as I’ve stated before, that I could not relate with any of the characters.  There wasn’t enough “Dark” to believe in the Dominant character, and 3 to 6 months of love won’t heal a damaged person; I’m quite
sure.  Being an avid reader of Erotica I was hoping that this trilogy would have opened doors for other writers who’ve dipped their feet in it, to receive more exposure.  Sadly, I don’t think that day has come.  I am thankful that writing and reading is not illegal, thankful that I am free to form my own opinion, and very thankful that I did not have to buy these books to read them.

 

So were these books a thumbs up for me: No.  But don’t take my word for it. If you’re into happy endings, soft sexual scenes, and mushy love stuff; these books are right up your alley.

I hear they’re making a movie…I won’t be in line to buy a ticket.

 

 

 

 

Comments are closed.