Words from an Insomniac still trying to find her way

I Never Claimed to be “The One”… Just Yours

 I’m here.

I’m always here.

Waiting, wondering, questioning.

I always want to know

I need to know.

That’s just the way I am.

With every care in the world

With every emotion I can carry.

Whether good or bad.

I care 

I have always cared.

That’s just the way I am.

Wasn’t it good

Wasn’t it important in the beginning?

It’s what matters

I would be empty other wise

God gave me this

I don’t want to give it back.

So take it 

Or walk away from it.

That’s just the way I am.

I don’t want to stop 

when it feels good to cry

to laugh, to care.

It is another way to love,

to fill a void, to end

The frustrations in life.

And I don’t want 

to be given a choice

Of when or when not to care.

So take it,

Or let go of it

If you dare.

If life doesn’t need it

I can’t force it upon you.

That’s just the way I am.

No wonder it’s hard to breathe

This heart is huge,

pumping hard

needing to give all

that it has to hold.

It’s beat, much faster

Than my words can speak.

I didn’t ask for this

It’s just the way I am.

I am not made out of rock

Not steel, or anything

Unbreakable.

Some days I wish I were.

But I’m always grateful that I’m not.

I am both weak and strong

Light and dark

Positive and negative

But always here.

Here.

Now.

In the present

Like I’ve always been.

I can’t be a savior

A miracle worker

I can’t even predict the future

But I can always be; just me.

Good and bad

Happy and sad

Angry and glad

Confused and relaxed

But always here. Here.

That’s just the way I am.

 
Comments are closed.