Words from an Insomniac still trying to find her way

Bar B.S.

Spice of life

Submerged by salt and pepper

Shakers

 

Same old plate

Nothing’s changed

except the minute/hour hand

 

With a towel in hand,

I rest my case.

 

One dreamy day I wished to be a kite

Winds outside were fierce

but I’m still here

 

No car, no money, no safety net

No one talks anymore

is that a good thing?

 

How many good dreams

equal a stress-free life?

Sweet-n-low is much too good for some

 

A phone and no one to call

When it rains or shines

I’m still lost in the crowd

 

Are the lights on?

 

One day I was burnt out

Decided to take my life

but a bottle of vitamins equals urine glow

 

I wake up on the same side

This boring bed eats the goodness

for all it’s worth… (not much)

 

I looked around the bar

Laughed, then felt bad

because my life has meaning

 

I didn’t mean to laugh (ha-ha-ha!)

 

~April 2003

One boring night working at Applebee’s in NM

Comments are closed.