Words from an Insomniac still trying to find her way

“every day is a good day” reflections of contemporary Indigenous Women

After reading this wonderful informative book, I am shocked that books such as these weren’t and still aren’t our text books in high school. Rather than listen to lies of conquering for the good and how barbaric Native Americans were, we can be told the good and the bad from the women telling these stories. The truth isn’t always easy to swallow, just look at our government, but it can definitely be a life change.

I am sickened by a government who keeps taking and taking from a people who don’t deserve it. I could keep going on about this but this a review, not an argument. These stories talk of a courageous and brave people who are still standing tall, still fighting the good fight, and who have so much to teach us. With each emotional view, every lesson taught, these women have given us so much more understanding about love, trust, obedience, courage, and pain.

I highly recommend this as a read. It should be read by every high school student. Can you imagine the hope instilled in just one child on the road to destruction? The bottom line; we as a people are important together, not one more than the other. Life will never function positively. Never forget to give your Creator thanks for your life through good times and bad. Love someone like you want to be loved.

Why are these ways so difficult for some?

 

 

2 responses

  1. This. is. wonderful. I’m definitely adding it to my To Be Read pile. Thank you! PS. wonderful that you’re supporting To Write Love on Her Arms to my right, I love it.

    December 24, 2011 at 8:43 pm

  2. Thank you for checking out my blog Cassie. It’s nice to have supporters!
    Happy New Year to you. I hope you enjoy the book.

    December 27, 2011 at 2:29 am